Padmashree Kavita Krishnamurthy presents 8th Global Konkani Music Awards

Mangaluru: The 8th Global Konkani Music Awards Ceremony was held on Sunday December 11 at Kalaangann, Mangaluru.

Top-3 Nominees of all 6 categories were honoured by Roy Castelino, the President of the Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy.

The winners of each category were declared and awarded with Rs. 25,000/- each, a bouquet, title and a trophy. The Chief Guest, Padmashree Kavita Krishnamurthy Subramaniam presented the Awards. Nelson Rodricks, Dubai – the Sponsor of the Cash Awards, Roy Castelino, Eric Ozario – Gurkar of Mandd Sobhann and Louis Pinto – President of Mandd Sobhann were present on stage.

The Winners of the 8th Global Konkani Music Awards are as follows –
1.Best Singer Female-2015: Padmini D. Nayak for the song ‘Bhagiyantu Fool Fultana’ from the Album ‘Bhas Konkani Rag Tarangini’.
2.Best Singer Male-2015: Robin J. P. Sequeira for the song ‘Moga Tuji Yad’ from the Album ‘Moga Savlli’.
3.Best Music Composer-2015: Kevin Misquith & Stephen Frank for the song ‘Az Punni’ from the Album ‘E’k Geet’.
4.Best Lyricist-2015: Pobre Fernandes for the song ‘Mamageli Bo’ylam Gaddi’ from the Album ‘Mannkam Ani Motiam’.
5.Best Music Arranger-2015: Roshan D’Souza for the song ‘Dollyank Kazall’ from the Album ‘Tem Yenvchya Vella’.
6.Best Music Album-2015: Ajith Peter D’Souza for the Album ‘Tem Yenvchya Vella’.

Kavita Krishnamurthy mesmerized the audience with her soulful singing of the song ‘Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam’ and a Konkani hymn composed by Fr. Charles Vas – ‘Zo’yo Jezu Balla’. She thanked Mandd Sobhann for inviting her to the Awards and she was full of praises for the performances of the evening. Congratulating the winners, she spoke about her singing career and working experience with music composers of various languages and said that all those great composers have made it big just because of their passion and dedication for music. She applauded the efforts of Mandd Sobhann in recognizing and honouring talents of Konkani, and also for preserving Konkani Music, by doing so. She said that songs of different regional languages have their own essence, and all these songs together define Indian music.

On the occasion, Sidhanath Buyao’s online Radio – ‘Radio Buyao’ was launched by Kavita Krishnamurthy Subramaniam.

Eric Ozario honoured the sponsors, Kishore Fernandes, Secretary of Mandd Sobhann honoured the Jury and Stany Alvares, the Vice President of Mandd Sobhann, honoured the artistes and technical team. Sai Palondikar spoke on behalf of the jury and said that the Global Konkani Music Awards is a platform that helps retain the enthusiasm for Konkani and pass it on to the younger generation.

The audience was entertained with performances from Sidhanath Buyao – the pride of Goa, ‘Sumell’ – Mandd Sobhann’s Konkani Singing Club, and Nach Sobhann. Arun Raj Rodrigues & Hera Pinto compered the show.

World’s premier Konkani Cultural Organisation, Mandd Sobhann, has been presenting the most prestigious Music Awards in Konkani – the Global Konkani Music Awards – to recognize, encourage and honour talents, so that Konkani Music may flourish globally, every year, since 2009.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here